Is this effective?

Which workout routine or program is best for your fitness goal? Post your programs here!

Moderators: cassiegose, Boss Man

blueeyes44
STARTING OUT

Is this effective?

Post by blueeyes44 »

I recently saw a trainer in area and this is what I got setup with and wanted another opinion just to be sure....

Four Days a week:

Squats 15lb in each hand x24
Lunges 15lb in each hand x12 per side
Push ups x24
bicycle crunches x100
crunches x100
preacher curl 60lb x12
seated pulley rows 40lb x12 per side
overhead shoulder press 20lb per hand x12
bent rows 30lbs x12 per side
dips 18lb bar on lap x24
*I do this twice*

Then a few miles on either the treadmill or bike.

I am aiming to loose weight but also to get strength up.

Any input would be very appreciated :)
musculArgirl2
VETERAN

Re: Is this effective?

Post by musculArgirl2 »

Hi, I don't know if that is effective blue eyes because i am not good at this myself yet. But hopefully boss (the moderator) will see it and post. He usually posts in the late afternoon to evening. Otherwise other members might post too! Good luck though! :D
Boss Man
SITE ADMIN

Post by Boss Man »

blueeyes44 wrote:
Four Days a week:

Squats 15lb in each hand x24
Lunges 15lb in each hand x12 per side
Push ups x24
bicycle crunches x100
crunches x100
preacher curl 60lb x12
seated pulley rows 40lb x12 per side
overhead shoulder press 20lb per hand x12
bent rows 30lbs x12 per side
dips 18lb bar on lap x24
*I do this twice*
That workout looks rubbish to be honest.

100 Bicycle crunches, followed by 100 Crunches? effectively 400 Crunches a session and potentially some indirect Abs work from the Squats and Lunges.

Also TBT is not reccomendable to novices beyond 3 sessions a week, so 4 is too much and won't promote good muscle recovery, because then you're going to have to do the same thing at least 2 days in a row.