New to gym need a fast workout

Which workout routine or program is best for your fitness goal? Post your programs here!

Moderators: cassiegose, Boss Man

arollinson
STARTING OUT

New to gym need a fast workout

Post by arollinson »

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to gym I'm looking to lose weight and tone up, I only get about 45 mins in gym as I go before work! So has anyone got a routine I could do to lose weight tone up? I go 5 times a week
Boss Man
SITE ADMIN

Re: New to gym need a fast workout

Post by Boss Man »

Squats, 2 sets, 10 reps

Lunges, 2 sets, 10 reps

Deadlifts, 2 sets, 10 reps

Bench Press, 2 sets, 10 reps

Bent over Rows, 2 sets, 10 reps

Shrugs, 2 sets, 10 reps

Planks 30 seconds.

You would do that 3x a week every other day.

This is how your schedule could look per week

Day 1. Weights

Day 2. Cardio

Day 3. Weights

Day 4. Day off

Day 5. Cardio

Day 6. Weights

Day 7. Day off.

This prevents you doing 5 days straight and 2 days of nothing, as I think that's allowing too much consecutive taxation and 2 days of your body doing nothing, slowly starting to adjust to it, before 5 days of grind again, which might take the edge off progress potential, so the 5 split days should be better for you.

On the squats and bench press, use the third smallest dumbbells. Deadlifts, second smallest barbell. Bent over rows, smallest barbell, Lunges third smallest dumbbell and shrugs, second smallest dumbbell.

That should be doable in your time frame and then add a little more weight to things every 1-2 weeks and 5 seconds to planks every week, until you can do 90 seconds.
arollinson
STARTING OUT

Post by arollinson »

Perfect cheers boss man!
AlexisW
STARTING OUT

Post by AlexisW »

Workout A

1A Leg Press (feet wide) 3 x 12 rest 40 Sec then do 1B
1B Seated Row 3 x 10 rest 60 Sec then do 1A

2A Back Extensions (focus on squeezing your bum) 3 x 10 rest 40 sec then do 2B
2B Flat DB Chest Press 3 x 12 rest 60 sec then do 2A

3 Plank 3 x 40-60 Sec rest 60 sec

Workout B