Cardio and weight training for weight loss?

Which workout routine or program is best for your fitness goal? Post your programs here!

Moderators: cassiegose, Boss Man

j92008
STARTING OUT

Cardio and weight training for weight loss?

Post by j92008 »

Hi! I am just starting out and so glad to have this forum! I am a 38 year old female, trying to lose 25- 30 pounds. I have begun a clean eating program, but I am confused about workout.
I am doing 45 minutes of cardio everyday and weight training 3-4 times a week. Should I not be doing weight training until I am closer to goal weight? I am not really losing weight as I expected I would.
ultimate goal is not only to be "toned" but to be defined.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Jeannine[/i]
swanso5
VETERAN

Post by swanso5 »

toned and defined is the same thing...

post your wts and cardio programs for a closer look...as well as what you eat on a daily basis
j92008
STARTING OUT

More info re: current program

Post by j92008 »

Told you I was new at this :oops: . Let me clarify. I want to lose weight (Primarily)and build muscle (beyond just being toned. Not bulky, but muscular)
So, with that said, here is an idea of workout and eating program:

Morning: 1 cup oatmeal, 1/2 cup blueberries, 3 egg whites scrambled
snack: 1/2 cup plain nonfat yogurt w/ sliced banana
Lunch: Salad (spinich, carrot, radishes, water packed tuna) w/ balsamic vinegar.
Snack: apple and handful of almonds
Dinner: Baked Chicken Breast, steamed broccoli, 1/2 cup brown rice
1/2 cup berries

(of course water throughout-8-10 glasses and usually 2 cups herbal tea)

Current Workout Schedule:

7 Days: Cardio 45 minutes on treadmill at 4mph, incline 4

Mon: Legs- Squats , Leg Curls, Calf Raises 3 sets each
Biceps- Barbell Curls, 3 sets
Forearms- Wrist Curls, 3 sets
Abdominals- crunches 3 sets to failure

Wed: Chest- Bench Press, Dumbbell flys 3 sets each
Shoulders- Lateral Raises, Barbell shoulder press 3 sets each