Squats, squats and more squats

Questions or concerns about specific exercises? Post them here!

Moderators: cassiegose, Boss Man

Amberwaves
STARTING OUT

Squats, squats and more squats

Post by Amberwaves »

Ok! I'm a 33 year old female
I've been working out for a couple of months now. I do lots of squats with weights as well as body weights. I want legs tight and firm! I also need to lose some fat I'm sure of! I'm trying to understand what is exactly going on as I am training them. They are much much firmer and I think the fat to muscle ratio is changing but they still look the same size! I guess I just don't quite under stand what is happening as they change!
Alinshop
REGULAR

Re: Squats, squats and more squats

Post by Alinshop »

It sounds like you are adding muscle which in turn will make your legs a little bigger yet leaner at the same time. This is a good thing. Are you performing any cardio as well?
Amberwaves
STARTING OUT

Re: Squats, squats and more squatswork

Post by Amberwaves »

I have just started doing cardio! I tend to build muscle easily. I always have! I just want legs to get smaller! I really hate cardio though! Yuck
Boss Man
SITE ADMIN

Post by Boss Man »

Hi Amber good to talk with you.

It sounds like muscle gain which is a good thing and no your body might not really look much different simply because for every 1lb of added muscle you gain you burn around 45-50 additional calories per day, so it's good for fat burning as well.

This however means your muscle to fat ratio would be getting better, but your legs would appear largely the same, not least as leg definition is the hardest thing to achieve probably out of any muscle area.