New to weight training! Need advice please.

Discuss your weight training questions, concerns and tips!

Moderators: cassiegose, Boss Man

helena505
STARTING OUT

New to weight training! Need advice please.

Post by helena505 »

Hey,

Over the past year or so i have managed to lose quite a lot of weight from just eating a lot healthier but i would really like to tone up more through weights as i would like to tone arms, get a flatter stomach and a bigger bum! haha but im very new to weight lifting and im not really sure what kind of weights i should be lifting. At the moment i have dumbbells but they are very light, only 3KG each.

I am 5ft 2" and 8stone, not sure if that has an impact on how much i should lift or not? But if anyone could give me some advice i would really appreciate it :) the gym isn't an option for me as i find it very difficult to work out in front of people as anxiety is quite bad and have quite low self esteem annoyingly.

Thank you :)

Helena x
Boss Man
SITE ADMIN

Re: New to weight training! Need advice please.

Post by Boss Man »

Hi Helena, good to talk to you.

I am sorry to hear that you have social anxiety concerns, as I could recommend certain things for you if you were able to try and find a way around these concerns.

After all 97%+ of people are there to do their own thing, not to behave anti-socially, but I do accept that you have such concerns and of course I want to encourage you to try and overcome these concerns, as a way of adjusting your emotional well being in a positive way, but I do believe I have a solution that will fit with your outlook and mine.

This is a workout you can do at home, that at a later date can be transferred or adapted for the gym, as eventually it will stagnate in success terms as you're limited to what equipment you can use.

Squats, 2 sets 10 reps

Lunges, 2 sets 10 reps

Deadlifts, 2 sets 10 reps

Military press, 2 sets 10 reps

Bent over rows, 2 sets 10 reps

Shrugs, 2 sets 10 reps