Incline vs. Flat vs. Decline Bench Press

Discuss your weight training questions, concerns and tips!

Moderators: cassiegose, Boss Man

teppum42
STARTING OUT

Incline vs. Flat vs. Decline Bench Press

Post by teppum42 »

Is it common to have to decrease the weight when I do incline bench press? The weight I can bench flat, I seem to be able to do on the decline, but when I go to incline I just can't keep up the weight. Should I work to get incline and flat benches to be the same, or is that just natural the incline would be a little lower?

Also, any recommendations between regular grip and hammer grip? I imagine they work the muscles a little differently.

Thanks!
pedd0r
STARTING OUT

Post by pedd0r »

I'm no expert, but I think it's normal. At least it is the same for me. And I suppose you also use some other muscles when doing incline more than when doing flat. The shoulders for example.
RK19
REGULAR

Re: Incline vs. Flat vs. Decline Bench Press

Post by RK19 »

teppum42 wrote: Also, any recommendations between regular grip and hammer grip? I imagine they work the muscles a little differently.
i assume your using dumbells then? if you hold the dumbells with a "hammer grip" (neutral grip) then it will target more the outer chest at the armpit area, especially if you do decline with neutral grip as it replicates dips.
Packard
VETERAN

Post by Packard »

From experience no one I know can incline bench with as much poundage as they can on the flat bench. Decline bench is even lower.

The flat bench utilizes the largest section of the pectorals and allows you to generate the greatest amount of power.
ctorok
STARTING OUT

Post by ctorok »

personally i think incline is a waste of time because it puts so much strain on your rotator cuffs
your flat bench should be the most weight.
www.instantlyinshape.com
swanso5
VETERAN

Post by swanso5 »

why is flat bench good then?

www.uponlinetraining.com
Packard
VETERAN

Post by Packard »

Chest exercises: