Back troubles...

A forum for training tips, advice and anything regarding sports and strength events.

Moderators: cassiegose, Boss Man

steveabode
STARTING OUT

Back troubles...

Post by steveabode »

Hi all

As a coach I should have known better... but I was working (care) last week and the guy I work for had misaligned his wheelchair with it's ramp and drove off of the side... I rushed to help and caught the chair before it tipped over, but in doing so lower back went "twang" and I had to hit the deck with this sudden new pain! I managed to work the rest of the afternoon and went to see the osteopath later. She mauled me around a bit and said that internal core was extremely weak and that it was inherent in much weight training that the big, protective "sheath" type muscles, such as the abs and glutes are always given precedence over the inner, stabilising control muscles. She gave me an exercise where I lie on back with knees initially pointing straight up in the air; the exercise is to move knees towards head for only three inches over a period of about 15 seconds...! This has proved extremely difficult and actually quite tiring!! I wondered if anyone has had similar experiences and maybe could recommend more of these "inner you" stabilising exercises?

Regards to all

Steve
steveabode
STARTING OUT

Re: Back troubles...

Post by steveabode »

Great, thanks B!

I'll look over those and give them a try- really appreciate the help :D
swanso5
VETERAN

Post by swanso5 »

shucks
steveabode
STARTING OUT

Post by steveabode »

hello swanso5, hope you're well...
swanso5
VETERAN

Post by swanso5 »

hey mate,

do as brent suggested
steveabode
STARTING OUT

Post by steveabode »

cool, thanks for your input man!