I need advice

Teenagers and kids discuss your fitness concerns here.

Moderators: cassiegose, Boss Man

LilBooBoo
STARTING OUT

I need advice

Post by LilBooBoo »

I dont know if this forum is still active but I’m having trouble in many areas. Ive been working out for 2 years not very consistently. I’m 17 182cm and 72kg. I’m still skinny not very muscular but I have love handles and they are very noticeable. I don’t know exactly how to lose them while I still gain muscle mass. Because if I go into a calorie surplus ill gain more body fat. But if I’m in a deficit then I might lose muscle. Ive had this issue for so long as I’m skinny but look fat because of love handles. protein intake is enough for me and I do weight training and no cardio. So is there a solution to this?
Boss Man
SITE ADMIN

Re: I need advice

Post by Boss Man »

Hey LilBooBoo good to talk to you :).

Yes this forum is still active.

Firstly good for you getting into the lifestyle. At your age many are persuing wreckless and pointless lifestyle choices, but you're looking out for yourself, so big props for that you should be really proud of yourself.

I'm glad you're lifting weights and don't be too worried about how much you lift. The idea that females get bulky when they lift, is a complete load of horse poop, so you can definitely lift with confidence and pride in what you're doing.

Weight lifting can acutally help to burn fat whilst building muscle, as 1lb of extra muscle can burn around 45-50 calories more per day, by being healthy for your metabolism. so building a bit of muscle is heathy and totally okay for females to do.

I'd like to ask a few things first and foremost to see what you're doing.

How long have you been lifting?

Have you changed up what you lift or kept it at week 1 levels of weight?

What foods do you eat and what times do you eat at?