Journey towards first Ironman

Post your workout journals so others can review your training and follow your progress!

Moderators: cassiegose, Boss Man

triathlondaddy
STARTING OUT

Journey towards first Ironman

Post by triathlondaddy »

Hey,
name's Ben, I'm 40 years old living in Dorset, England. Married, two kids, I work in sales and have had an on/off relationship with sport all life!

About three years ago, on the sofa with the missus and well into our second glass of wine she peered at iPad and snorted "ha! you cant do a triathlon". Charming, eh?!! Anyway, I signed up - I'd been playing five-a-side footy for the last 8 or so years every Monday night and thought "Yes, I can"! I had two weeks to train before first sprint Tri...

I completed it. I liked it. I overloaded on fluids and needed to go to the loo at T2 but I thought I can work on this. I decided to complete a three year experiment to see what I could learn. It also gave me a reason to stop occasional smoking habit.

So, last week, out on bike (after three years of competing sprints and olympics) I decided to do a half IronMan next year. I'm blogging to share training experience and experiments, and to have a record I can look back on that is slightly more interesting than Garmin logs! Who knows, but hopefully I'll also write something that might be useful to other normal blokes trying to keep fit?

Anyway, come over and please comment, like, follow, advise, contribute etc...!

http://www.triathlondaddy.com

Thanks!
triathlondaddy
STARTING OUT

Re: Journey towards first Ironman

Post by triathlondaddy »

Race schedule for next year, race journals pending...
http://triathlondaddy.com/race-calendar-2016/

This should keep me honest!!
Manzer12
STARTING OUT

Post by Manzer12 »

Hello,