newbie looking for a good cardio exercise

A forum for anything related to cardiovascular training.

Moderators: cassiegose, Boss Man

annakarenina
STARTING OUT

newbie looking for a good cardio exercise

Post by annakarenina »

Hi! I am a newbie here, I am, 39 years old, 5ft. 4in. and I currently weigh 200 lbs, I have already lost 4 lbs over the past month thru diet and walking. But lately, ankles are getting sore from too much walking. I am desperate to lose weight, but I don't know what else to do to lose it :? I am targeting a weight of at least 160lbs by December.

I am thinking of using an ankle support and resort to jogging 2 times a week and swimming once a week, can anyone suggest something else? :D Thank you guys!
Nokie173
VETERAN

Re: newbie looking for a good cardio exercise

Post by Nokie173 »

Good job… 4lbs is good to start with!!!

I really like the swimming idea since it would workout your whole body!!! How about a stationary bike? Try stretching before and after your workout.
Main thing is diet. What are your meals like and what time you eat?
david4pointpt
STARTING OUT

Post by david4pointpt »

I like to add boxing and kicking into clients routines. If you have someone to hold a stability ball or focus pads start with those. You can purchase a cheap pair of boxing gloves and start with 1-3 minute rounds. Mix up the punching and kicking.

If you don't have anyone to hold the ball or pads then you can purchase a reflex bag or punching bag. Or just shadow box in the mirror. As long as you are moving you burn calories. The faster you move the more you burn.

If you are on a budget take a tennis ball and either screw or tape a string to it. Tie the string to the ceiling and push the ball forwards, move around the ball and don't let it hit you.

Your main focus should be proper nutrition to lose weight, cardio speeds up the process. Also good for the heart.

More exercise and nutrition tips can be found here http://gymsinsanantonio.com/