New User Here to Learn

Discuss anything related to dieting, nutrition, recipes and food facts.

Moderators: cassiegose, Boss Man

dzenon
STARTING OUT

New User Here to Learn

Post by dzenon »

HI, name is Daniel, as you can tell from the thread title/subject, I'm new and here to learn a couple things as well as ask for help health-wise and academically. Here's the health-wise details: I'm a college student who can be quite active and physically fit, yet be terrible at sticking to meal plans, dieting, and proper nutrition. I used to be more active, but as of recently I've been off game which kind of brings me back to square one with where I want to be. As much as I can blame busy schedule, it really is on me to not make actual time for myself to remain as fit as I would like. This time around I would like to start at a nutritional angle instead of going straight to working out because for me getting the gears running during a workout can be pretty easy, but staying nutritionally healthy and on track with diet is a completely different story. At the moment, I weigh about ~175 lbs and have always tried to get myself back down to about 165-160 lbs, but always hit a sort of plateau and end up losing myself. I tried intermittent fasting, but I personally don't feel like it has worked out for me, but what has worked is simple meal planning and prepping. I also weight lift during the week (upper/lower-strength/hypertrophy splits) with some cardio such as jogging or jump-roping (since this is the nutrition and diet section, I don't know if including general workout is necessary, but I wanted to include it for some background information).